Construction of the dock facilities of the Port of Greater Baton Rouge just below Port Allen, La. The Large white tank structure is the grain elevator which was put into operation in 1955. Dock construction was completed in the Fall of 1955.
East Baton Rouge Parish Council Camp Fire Girls serving luncheon for United Givers Fund report meeting. (L. to r.) H.H. Manners, Col. J. Lester White, Preston Barnes, Jr. and Camp Fire Girls: Toni Post and Susanne Comeaux. Date: 1955
Esso Standard Oil Company, main office building, Baton Rouge Refinery, Scenic Highway. Headquarters for one of the world's largest and most complete oil refineries. Pub. By Gulf South Advertising, Baton Rouge, La. Ca. 1955
Fire Prevention Week activities at Coploymer Rubber and Chemical Corporation. Shown here is a drill with a foam type fire extinguisher. Original located in the 1955 Fire Week Prevention Report, BRFD Collection.
Staff at the former Main Library 700 Laurel St. Baton Rouge, La. (front row l. to r.) Patricia Love, Betsy St. Julien, Mildred Ramsey, Viola Tuke. (second row, seated): Frances Sibley, unknown, Edith Abott, Winnie Dean Smith, Alyce Lyons Bennett,...